A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Time for some pictures….I hope you like!

Well, as it has been asked, here it is: the first picture of my first sock. I really hate our digital camera and it hates me, so you’ll have to bear with the crappy photography.

The first picture of the first sock... 

My only issue so far was that there was a larger hole at the top of the diagonal than what I initially wanted, but I can fix that in the after production and now have a better idea of what to expect for the mate.  I still can’t believe that I only had to tear it apart once to redo the heel! From everyone I’ve talked to, that’s pretty much unheard of.

Also, I made a very interesting discovery tonight: my cat is a yarn snob. When he gets ahold of it, he doesn’t want to let go…not to mention that now he follows me wherever I knit in an attempt to find it unguarded. I guess I’ll have to knit him a toy eventually. So here’s some photos of my cat, Ashes, being a yarn snob like his mom (with the exception that I don’t gnaw on the yarn).

 

5 responses to “Time for some pictures….I hope you like!

  1. Des February 14, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Wow! That sock looks awesome!!! And your kitty is super cute! :)

  2. habitsofamouse February 14, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Thanks on both comments! I’m hoping the sock will lock better when I can take some pics of it with its mate, doing its job.

    By the way, Ashes says thank you for calling him cute. *snickers* Too bad he couldn’t be cute at night when I’m sleeping.

  3. Jen February 14, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Ah. Cats and yarn. A classic combo. The sock looks good! And holes are inevitable on the first few socks. It’s easy to close it up from the inside if needed. Or, you can always rip it out and reknit it :)

  4. joyknits February 15, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Nice sock, and what a cool kitty! Whatever is behind him would make a super slip stitch pattern if it isn’t already We had a much loved cat years ago who only bothered with alpaca – that I had to make very sure was safely put away.

  5. habitsofamouse February 27, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    The blanket behind him is actually crocheted with a series of shell stitches. It was a high school graduation gift from my mom…but now that you mention it, it would make a good slip-stitch pattern!

Leave a Reply

