A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Snow Day

Once more, I have a snow day. Granted that means I don’t get paid for a full day, I can’t complain too much. Now that Joe has a deal worked out with the landlord, I’m essentially only losing $25 a day instead of $50. (Every storm that Joe has to snowblow is $25 off the rent, which is lovely.) It’s nice that he can help out in this way instead of not be contributing at all. (Joe says, in his own defense, that he had been contributing by selling things on eBay…well, snow blowing in Maine in winter is more stable of an income than eBay ever will prove! :-p)

 Anyhow… I’m really hoping that my yarn from knitpicks.com comes in today. I’m being overly gutsy, and after doing only one pair of socks in worsted weight, I’m throwing myself right into fingering weight. I decided to go with the standard Essential yarn line. I haven’t heard anything negative about this yarn…in fact, a lot of what I ready highly recomended it as a relatively good-quality sock yarn. I picked out Shal Multi for Joe’s socks and Riverbed Multi for myself. I can’t wait!

Also, continuing on the crafting front, I’m 3/4 of the way done on a blush/scrafette that I’m making out of my poorlu educated sock yarn purchase. So far it’s coming out wonderfully. I’m winging it right now, and I think I may be able to recall tha pattern. I should have written it down as I went, but it’s so basic! It consists mainly of shell stitches. I’ll make sure to post a picture when it’s finished.

I just realized yesterday that I set myself a goal to have Joe’s couch-agan done by the end of the month….which ends Friday. Needless to say, I think my other crafts will have to take a back seat for a few days. ^_^

 Well, I’m off to start my snow day!

2 responses to “Snow Day

  1. Jen February 28, 2008 at 1:17 am

    I wish I had a snow day today. I finally feel like I’m breaking through to where I want to be and how I want to do things and I was hoping for the day to crank out some work. The only thing I accomplished was crossing a day off the calendar and some grading. I’m hoping to get some reading guides created tonight so my kiddos can work their way through Caged Bird by Maya Angelou as homework.

  2. habitsofamouse February 28, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    As much as I would like to say, “I know what you mean,” I can’t yet….but, man, am I waiting for the day I can say that!

Leave a Reply

