A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Another round of interesting sludge…

So I’m currently in the process of creating an appropriate cover-letter for sending out applications early, before some schools even post positions. I feel like I’m doing more work than what I should be doing, but after the horrendous fall out that was last year, I really need to make sure that I find a job that uses my certificate. Not to mention finding a job that doesn’t make me want to pull my hair out!

I also started work last night on the rough sketching of a lesson plan for Chaucery’s The Canterbury Tales. I’m really starting to realize how much I actually missed thinking about engaging students at the level that I prefer to work at. It’s amazing how much you miss it after you’re stuck working with a level that you really feel is a worthless effort. (I know, that’s sad for any educator to say, but I am so burnt out at this poitn I don’t care.)

I’m also currently debating about putting up my lesson plans on GoogleDocs to share with other teachers…or maybe adding them onto here. I have yet to really decide. Any ideas?

Also, a massive congrats to Jamie for the new arrival! :-D

3 responses to “Another round of interesting sludge…

  1. Desi April 13, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Ryan likes to recite the prologue to me in the old English. :) It’s cute.

    I know what you mean with being stuck at a level that you feel is a worthless effort. My one summer at the ME Conservation School drove me nuts. I loved the people I worked with, but it was the fact that I had to simplify everything I knew to a level of the kids that were forced there by their parents. It was then I realized that I could never be in a career position where my knowledge and potential had to be controlled or reduced. It’s not sad for an educator to say at all. As an individual, you just need to be at a higher level for you to feel like you are achieving something. All educators yern for their right position, and you just aren’t in the right place for you. I bet that after you land in your niche, you will not feel burned out, you’ll feel energized.

    Keep it up, all this extra work you are doing right now is worth it!

  2. Jen April 15, 2008 at 1:18 am

    I’ve been thinking about putting materials up on Google Docs, too. Currently I do most of my general planning and record keeping there, but without the files being shared. I do it this way so I don’t have to drag my laptop back and forth with me since I have a nice desktop at home. Monmouth doesn’t have an effective file sharing/transfer system set up through their servers. You can only access your server space at school. And instead of bringing files back and forth on a thumb drive that could become corrupt, I decided to go through GD. I like it so far.

    I really like the tool for students. Many of my students struggle with bringing work to school on thumb drives where the computers don’t have the same software or cannot read the file types. Google Docs fills this need.

    I’m glad you’re working on units still. I hope you get to use them. I never dreamed in a million years that I’d be teaching Greek mythology and drama!! I was pretty set up with American Literature and young adult literature, but not Greek literature! If I stay at Monmouth next year, I’ll have a good base to build on this summer now that I’ve taught all this material once over already. However, I am applying for jobs so I might have to start from scratch next year. Blargh.

  3. Jamie April 16, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    =D Thank you!

Leave a Reply

