A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Stress, illness, and a bit of enjoyment…

So I stayed home from work today. I was sick all last weekend, but I dealt with it. I was on the verge of getting better, only to be hit by food poisoning. Yeah. That was fun. Needless to say yesterday at work was a nightmare, and I really needed the downtime. The unfortunate thing is that I will be calling out tomorrow because I have the mortgage application meeting. Bye-bye sick days. Oh, well. It’s not like I’m BSing the use of them.

On another note, neither the ModaDea nor Thrift Shop shawl patterns were cooperating for me. One was due to the size needles I have and the other from lack of experience with increases. As much as I should have forced my way through, I couldn’t.  So I found yet another pattern for what I want to try out.  It’s a zig-zag shawl pattern. It looks a lot more interesting than the other two and was posted as an “easy” pattern. Let’s hope so! The only issue I’m having now is that my stitches keep wanting to twist around my needle. Hopefully that will change with more rows added on. In other news, I’m not on row fifty of the ribbing of Joe’s sock. I really should take a picture of it. For my second pair of socks, it’s coming out beautifully!

In other news, my parents finally found someone to sell Courtesy Cab to. For those of you unfamiliar with my childhood, this business ran the entirety of it. After my folks took the business over from my uncle while I was in second grade, a lot changed in a short amount of time. Mom had to work from 7 – 3 every weekday as a dispatcher and dad did a lot of the back-up driving. This meant that for about a year or two my school day consisted of waking up, getting dressed, going to the cabstand in town to have breakfast and finish getting ready for school. From there I would go to school, return there in the afternoon and work on homework until mom was done work. Later on things got even more annoying thanks to the move we had to do. Instead of being able to stay on the outskirts of town, we had to move more in town so that we weren’t wasting money renting a place for the business.

To make a long story short, it was a long childhood of the business coming first. Yes, my parents were around 24-7, but there weren’t really there for a lot of the time. The business ate up a lot of it. There were so many times that I wished my parents had just had normal jobs. There were numerous occasions such as plays, concerts, awards nights, and the like that they had to take two separate cars incase dad had to leave to go drive back-up. Heck, it wasn’t until just this past Christmas that we were actually able to have a holiday meal where dad was there for the whole thing! It really made being able to actually be a family really hard, I feel.

Needless to say, it did teach me some lessons, including to grow up and face things quicker than others are forced to do so, but I won’t go onto the tangent right now. I’m happy that the business is gone. All in all, it’s one less headache that mom and dad have to deal with. It’s about time.

3 responses to “Stress, illness, and a bit of enjoyment…

  1. Jamie May 9, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Wow… they finally found someone to sell the business to. I’m speechless. I’m happy… but I don’t know what to say…

  2. Desi May 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Wow! That’s great for them! And, althought you nor I would like to admit it, it’s good for them because our parents are getting older and need to start eliminating more stress from their lives. Good for them. :) I’m not sure if you have come to that realization yet, but goodness, when I realized it, it was weird. I mean, it’s only natural, but you never think your parents will get old. Sorry, just some random babbling. :)

  3. habitsofamouse May 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Jamie — I know what you mean! It’s so surreal.

    Desi — I have so come to that realization! Dad’s hair get grayer every time I see him! It’s weird to finally see your parents aging after you’ve grown up in the same house as them. I think it’s just easier to see once you’ve been away.

Leave a Reply

