A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Hitting the doldrums

I don’t know why, but I have seemed to hit rock bottom tonight. I really have no want for anything. Food, drink, cleaning, my animals…even Pauly Shore lacks the laughter I wish I had in me right now. Now I understand what Bill was trying to convey to me about how stressing it is to start anew with no solid leads. he saw his parents do it when they moved from Vermont to Maine when he was in high school. I’m glad I’m not the only one that has found such a thing difficult. 

I miss work. I don’t mind being around Joe and the animals, but I really do miss work. I miss working with the staff I had and the kids. I’m really hoping that I can get a teaching job. I have a few applications to work on at some point tonight (including some for Augusta school district), not to mention that I should really get back on working on my online portfolio. That really does need some revamping. I need to do it on a day that I can sit down and do the majority of it all at once, however, as I would hate to have a working portfolio “under construction.” I’m hoping that once things get much more settled here that I will be able to feel more at home. I keep debating about taking up knitting again or another craft…but I really don’t think I’ve deserved it and I don’t think I will until my house is no longer in disarray. Bah.

Speaking of work and what not, it’s been about a year since I have actually tried to put together a unit plan. I got very depressed after not getting a teaching job last year and left the practice behind. Now I feel like I’ve been neglecting it all and this is the karmatic return: no teaching job in sight. I keep thinking that maybe if I get back in the habit something will come up.  

UNIT PLAN IDEAS: 

* Censorship (Bradbury, for starters)
* Points of view (I can do Pride & Prejudice along with Darcy’s Story)
* Personification (No ideas yet on this one)
* Oral story traditions (I was thinking that this could be tied in folktales or urban legends)
* Pollution/Effects of humans on nature (Mrs. Brisby and the Rats of NHIM

3 responses to “Hitting the doldrums

  1. Jen June 27, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Keep your chin up. Something will pull through. For me, it was completely unexpected and asked me to make a lot of sacrifices. You *will* get a teaching job. You are too good to be left standing. Keep working on the units, you have no idea how much having your *own* units will set you apart in an interview.

    I was on the interview committee for our new English teacher and I learned alot in the process. The key is to be clear, concise, organized, and calmly positive. Also, be ready for the interview panel to call everyone and anyone you may have worked with in the past – interviewers know *everyone*.

    We’re not too far away, either. We can still meet up every few weeks to do some knitting, yes knitting! and have tea or coffee.

    Speaking of which, knit, damn you! You deserve it more than anyone I know. Knit until your fingers fall off!

    :)

  2. Jen June 28, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Oh, and for personification, use Oscar Wilde’s The Remarkable Rocket – it’s in the public domain so you can grab the text from just about any where.

  3. habitsofamouse June 28, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks for all of that, hun! I really needed those kind words. It would be great to be able to catch up and do some knitting and/or discussions over units and the like. By the way, where’s your new apartment again? Joe asked and I really couldn’t remember. :-)

    Hmmm…I’ll have to take a look at that work by Wilde. I’ve never really been that big of a fan, but the last time that I read it was in high school. I’ll have to find it on Gutenberg. (I’m living off that thing right now.)

Leave a Reply

