A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Stress is obnoxious.

So with everything not going on (such as a job and all) I’m starting to feel as though this paradise is my prison. I say paradise and I really mean it. Well, maybe not so much when I forget to use the bug spray, but that’s another story entirely. As the streaming addition of pictures continue, I felt that I should add some of our backyard and such since the last time was right after all the snow left.

This is a section on the back yard that will eventually become the garden and wood area. You can’t see them, but we do have six tomato plants between the first two poles. Our stack of wood is equally as small as our garden, but we’ll have time to grow that as we unfortunately dont’ have money for an outdoor wood boiler right now.

This is ever so slightly to the right of the garden/wood area. Two of these trees will probably be coming out this fall to give the healthiest one more room to grow.

In another area of our back yard we have a little peninsula created primarily by the roots of this old ash. When the stream floods out it forms a moat and cuts this ash off from the rest of the lawn.

We also have this “secret gully” right beyond where you can see past the invasive Japanese Knotwood. It’s a beautiful little area. I’m really hoping we can save the money to buy snowshoes this winter. I think it would be really fun to explore!

Oh, and of course, what post about paradise would be complete without a picture of my library all set up in the bedroom corner designated for such?

4 responses to “Stress is obnoxious.

  1. Jamie July 5, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I really want to see the ‘secret gully.’ Hopefully if we ever go back down to Rumford (I’m honestly afraid after the last time we were down there…) then we will stop by your place first. I’d love to see your new paradise, and I’m sure the kids wouldn’t mind getting a stretch of the leg either…

  2. habitsofamouse July 5, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    That would be wicked cool. I’m not really sure if we’d be able to “enter” the gully. It’s a little swampy for the most part. *lol* But it’s definitely something to see in person!

  3. sensiblevermonter July 6, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I bet you’ll be able to enter it in the winter- I’ll all be frozen over! :) If it’s not too hard to reach, you should definately think about pulling and destroying that knotweed.

  4. habitsofamouse July 6, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    We’re going to pull a lot out on one side of the property, but until we can figure out what to do with the other section…right now we think it’s the only thing keeping our dirt road and driveway intact.

Leave a Reply

