A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Calling inspiration: Where are you?

Alright. So here’s the story. On 7/11, a Friday, I finished and sent out an application for a high school ELA position. On Thursday (7/17) I received a call around 9:30 from the secretary of MSAD 13 Bingham/Moscow. For those of you who are not familiar with my area of the state, Bingham is about 44 minutes north or where I now live. They wanted me to come in for an interview…that day! I scheduled the time for 1 o’clock and spent the rest of my morning prepping and printing off everything I could possibly think I need for the interview. (However, as we all know, all the prepping feels as though it’s for not because we never end up using any of this stuff at the interview.) I go in for the interview and was shocked to find that the interview party only consisted of the district principal and the only other ELA teacher in the high school. They were both really nice and I feel the meeting went really well. Granted, I’m doing my normal thing of, “Did I say this right?,” “Should I have said this or this?” type of stuff.

The issue now lies in the fact that I have no inspiration to do anything. I feel that I am now on hold, waiting until I hear yea or nay from them when I really should be using this to propel myself onward and upward. So here I sit, sipping on an Irish Creme iced coffee hoping to get myself in gear to finish up some very neglected applications. If anyone has any left over charisma or inspiration, feel free to send some my way.

One response to “Calling inspiration: Where are you?

  1. sensiblevermonter July 20, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Charisma, inspiration, call it what you want, I’ll try my best! Don’t stop what you are doing because of one interview, even if you feel as though it went well. Do it for yourself, keep going, keep doing what you do, just to you can make sure you have all kinds of options, but most importantly, to keep you busy and try to keep your mind at ease! The more you put yourself out there, the less worried and more motivated you’ll become. :) It’s like me today, I have a million chores and such to do around the house. If I do just one, I’ll lose motivation to do more, and then get all panicky later thinking “oh man, I should have just done this too and I forgot this”. But if I keep going, working continuously, I find all kinds of motivation to keep going, and find all the little things I’ve been meaning to do along the way. :)

Leave a Reply

