A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

I have slayed the beast.

“Maybe we like the pain. Maybe we’re wired that way. Because without it, I don’t know; maybe we just wouldn’t feel real. What’s that saying? Why do I keep hitting myself with a hammer? Because it feels so good when I stop.” ~ Meredith Grey – Grey’s Anatomy

To a lot of you out there on the world-wide-web, this isn’t going to seem that big, but in reality, it’s a big deal. Oakland reposted their position, like I previously mentioned. The last time I tried to do their application, I froze. I couldn’t get past the right up of personal beliefs and philosophy…all that good stuff. I have a really hard time putting into words how I teach without sounding uppity. That’s apparently how I write when I do a lot of things: uppity. I write to the professional degree that it sounds forced and faked….neither is the case. Well, I did it. I wrote the thing. Essentially, it created a completely new copy of philosophy of education. But, in all reality, I like this much better than the one I spent days, weeks, nigh close to a month perfecting for one of those obnoxious methods classes. I think that I will indeed keep this one to use.

On another note, I think I have enough of a handle on Google Docs to use it in conjunction with my web-based portfolio. This means I can place all of my lessons online for potential employers to look through. As much as I try to claim I’m anti-tech to a degree, I guess that’s really not the case. However, there is something to be said about hard copies, so I think I’ll keep my folders of printed out versions going as well.

I’m off to finish those applications and do some more work before I leave, then it’s off to Andover Olde Home Days! Yeeehaw!

Leave a Reply

