A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

What an update!

Well, with Joe gone off to his first day of work (^_^), I decided to break out the camera to do a multi-media update. I haven’t done one of these in a LONG time and figured that this would be a good chance to do it. Please excuse the quality of these pictures, the digital is kind of out dated and has been dropped often enough that it no longer likes to cooperate all the time.

So, first off, I wanted to show the lovely reading chair my parents have given me.

Reading Chair

I have to say that I really love this chair! It’s a full reclining one, but it’s so big for me that I don’t even have to use the recline aspect of it! I’m normally not a big fan of the large flowery type of patterns, but this really isn’t too bad. All in all, I think I’m becoming a fan of this specific pattern.

I was ecstatic that I finally got my shawl done. It is the first one that I have made, and my first use of alpaca yarn! I have to say that I loved both aspects of that last sentence.

Shawl 1

Originally I was going to make this in one large piece, but the lack of circular needle kind of put a kink in my plans. Instead, I had to make it in two and sew them together. Unfortunately, due to poor planning on my part with my yarn consumption, the pieces came out two different sizes. BUT it still looks good and is really warm!

Now that I have finished on the shawl, this month’s goal is to finish Joe’s socks (which I started WAY back in March). I’m kind of regretting having taken a break form these as the callus on my finger has left and now I’m kind of hurting due to the lack of “natural protection.” I think it will only be a few more days before that callus is back, though. especially since once I have some money in my wallet I can start funding my stash again. Especially now that I have more patterns at my disposal.

While at Andover Ol’ Home Days with my brother, mom and dad had given me a little spending money which I spent with pleasure! At first I didn’t see a single thing I wanted, but then I came across two finds. The first is the small book/knitting bag that can be turned inside out to look more professional if one so chooses. It’s something that I could have easily made myself if I had extra fabric, but the lady that had these at her booth also does quilts, so it’s a great way for her to use up her left overs! Not to mention that it’s just plan adorable!

Another booth that was there was run by Kris Percival. For those of you who have never heard of her, she’s a Maine native originally from the Andover area. While she currently lives out of state, she still tries to make it back in state to visit her family. Anyhow, I was debating about buying one of her book a while back, but then I saw that she had a knitting-to-go kit and was going to wait and buy that later one. Well, she had them there with her! Needless to say, I couldn’t resist. I’ve already picked out three patterns that I would love to work on this winter. Now it’s just finding the time (and money).

2 responses to “What an update!

  1. sensiblevermonter August 5, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Oh man, I was totally at Andover Old Homes Days this past weekend! I was walking about the area from 9:15 until the parade, watched that, and then went home. Shucks! I totally missed you!!!

  2. habitsofamouse August 5, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    LMAO!! That’s hilarious! We purposely waited until after the parade so we could get through and get a parking spot. Well, if you ever get the chance to get back to Rumexico again, let me know!

Leave a Reply

