A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“Work in Progress”

I figured that I haven’t really done much updating as of late, but I think that’s because it feels like so many aspects of my life right now are simply a work in progress. In reality, life is a work in progress, but it’s when it feels like it that it takes you off guard.

The other math Title I person and I finally got the schedule all figured out and started pulling kids to work with them this past Monday. Wednesday we find out that the school wide schedule for the 5th and 6th graders will be changing the last period of the day. So next week we start with a completely different schedule. We’ll only be meeting with the 5th and 6th graders twice, which I feel is too infrequent for the bulk of the kiddos I have. Unfortunately, being only an Ed. Tech. and the newest of the two of us, my vote apparently counts for nothing. Oh well. Documentation wins again. :-)

On the professional literacy/literature front, I have signed up for a couple of C.M.I.S. events. The first of them is next Thursday, RTI Literacy, and the next one is the 22nd of October, RTI & NWEA. They take place at the Govenor’s in Waterville, which can be on my way home. Granted, both will cause long days, as it takes half and hour to get from Pittsfield to Waterville and school gets out at 3 while both of the events start at 3:30.

For those of you who have never heard oc CMIS, here’s a quoted blurb from their site:

CMIS is a group of nine central Maine school districts as well as Goodwill-Hinckley, an area private school. The participating public schools include:

MSAD # 47 Belgrade, Oakland, Sidney

MSAD # 49 Albion, Benton, Clinton, Fairfield

MSAD # 53 Burnham, Detroit, Pittsfield

MSAD # 54 Canaan, Cornville, Mercer, Norridgewock, Skowhegan, Smithfield

MSAD # 59 Athens, Brighton Plantation, Madison, Starks

MSAD # 74 Anson, Embden, New Portland, Solon

SU # 52 China, Vassalboro, Winslow

Waterville Public Schools

It’s a great idea, really. I wish more areas of the state would do these types of mini-conferences.


On the knitting front, I still haven’t finished Joe’s socks. I’m starting to get back into my old regiment, however, of sitting down and doing two rows each morning before I take my shower. Plus, I think I might go back to doing some while watching the telly. (I’ve noticed that the past few really cold days my wrists have been sore. :-( I’m only 23. These problems should not be plaguing me. )

On the plus side of it all, after doing some peeking into the budget, I might have some money to get the appropriate sized needles to eventually do a sweater for Joe. :-) I’m still debating about doing a baby sweater first. the only issue being is that the only baby left that I have to make something for her mom has already requested a blanket. (I made her son one a year or so ago and am working on one for the step-daughter, so it makes sense.) I might just shoot the moon and try making Joe a sweater first go-round. I have a very simply pull over pattern that doesn’t seem that difficult to follow. My only issue is blocking. I’ve never done it, nor do I have a blocking board.  For the sweater, though, he wants something super-washed so he doesn’t have to remember to handwash it. (I’m starting to think about getting a “hand-wash only” clothes basket.) I’m thinking about trying the Swish Worsted Yarn from KnitPicks in either Allspice or Lemongrass heater.

Well that’s it for this morning! Coffee’s done, so I’m off to finish getting ready for work!

(P.S. — For those of you who’s blogs I have been trolling, I’m going to make a new goal to post comments on the weekends, otherwise I just keep trolling and never talking! See you this weekend!)

One response to ““Work in Progress”

  1. Desi September 14, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Glad to see things are back to normal for you- despite there being some stress involved. :)

    As for your wrists, I have to say, mine have been doing the same thing. The really cold morning my wrists ache and it its hard to bend my fingers. I wonder if it’s poor circulation or something. Yuck.

    Hope all is well with you both. :)

Leave a Reply

