A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“Thank you”s…

While doing the housework, it hit me like a bolt of lightning that there are a few thank yous that I have never gotten around to saying and feel that if I don’t write them down now, I’ll never get them out.

Jen T.: By some stroke of luck, we ended up in the same methods courses together. Since the first day in class, I was intimidated by you. Why I didn’t learn until much later. You are a brilliant lady who has persevered through many trials and tribulations, but has always come out strong. You’re a great teacher who students love and cherish. I look up to you more than I do to any of my peers. Thank you for always being there to bounce ideas off from and to complain to about my crafting disasters.

Desi G.: We went to the same school for how long and never really talked? All throughout high school you were one of the popular girls. I always wanted to be you. I always wanted to live your life. I always wanted to be your friend, but I never had the guts to talk to you. Our friendship started simply by a simple IM on a religious forum that neither of us thought we would find each other on. Since then, you have been one of my closest friends. I didn’t realize that you felt similar until you sent me an invite to your wedding. :-) I’m glad that we’ve forged this friendship, but I would be fibbing if I said I wasn’t nervous about the first chance we get to sit and have coffee together. Online I see you as a peer, but in my mind’s eye, I still see you as Desi Violette, a popular girl that I have no chance of ever being friends with. We really do need to get together some day and dispell that myth, don’t we? Thank you for being the “surprise” friend that has helped me through some of the hardest times. I really do with we lived closer.

Grammy: Thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I know you will probably never see this post, but I need to write this out. Thank you so much for keeping all your craft books, tons of yarn, every knitting needle and crochete hook you every bought, and plastic canvas. Because of you I am a crafter. I have learned to crochete from Mom. I taught myself to knit. Now, I’m picking up any craft I can. Thank you for keeping that going in our family.

Joe: You have allowed me to take great strides to becoming the woman I thought I never would be allowed to become. Thank you, love. You have opened more doors for me than I think you believe possible. Without you, I would not be the person I am today. I love you with all of my being.

2 responses to ““Thank you”s…

  1. sensiblevermonter October 14, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I’m just happy to have someone like you, a talented writer, a teacher with a huge heart, and a strong woman who has a hundred thousand hopes, dreams, and ambitions, as a friend. When I read your little blurb, I had to take a second to rethink high school, because I don’t think you and I are seeing the same person, well, not in my mind anyways. I never ever thought myself to be a popular girl, I just hung out with the music kids and the geeks, and so that’s what I put on myself as a label- a music geek who got called a hippie sometimes. I hated who I thought were the popular girls just because most of them were so mean, not all of course, but most. I never wanted to be one, I just wanted to be friends with everyone and not be mean to anyone if I could help it. What a cruel place school can be for kids. You and I turned out pretty darn good, but can you imagine how much more confident and outgoing we could be if we didn’t have all those kinds of thoughts in school? I often admired a lot of people I never really ended up talking to, just because we were on different schedules or in different activities or just never had the guts or chance. You were one of them. I had always known you from when we were younger, and I envied you a lot because you always seemed so free, so willing to do whatever YOU wanted, and always seemed so happy with yourself. But high school blabber aside, I am very glad you are a friend of mine now, and can’t imagine not having you. It’s funny now that I’m out of school, in the middle of nowhere, where I have no friends around me, and it can be tough. But I cherish those few friends I’ve made over the years, who although are not near me physically, I know I can always talk to them and feel as though nothing has changed. I only have a handful, including you, but it doesn’t matter what life throws our way, it always seems like we just pick up where we left off, no questions asked, no strings attached.

    For goodness sake girl, don’t be nervous! You are my friend and there isn’t a thing that could make that awkward. Besides, just think how much we’ve both changed- I’m no longer Desi Violette, but Desiree Giroux, a geeky Vermont country-bumpkin. But that does bring up a good point- coffee! Our problem is that we are both very busy people who live super far apart. So that got me thinking, our one tie is the Rum-ico-field area. Most of my family is still in the area, are yours? And if so, will you be spending any time visiting for Thanksgiving or Christmas? If so, we should try then. No excuses, even only 20 minutes if that’s all we can both spare. Because I know my family seems to get bigger every year and more and more people to visit, but I’m thinking, if you and I could just escape for 20 minutes and meet somewhere for coffee, doesn’t even matter where, we could dispell that myth and feel really good about the whole thing. Think about it, and as the time gets closer, we’ll try really hard to make more of a solid plan. :)

  2. Joe October 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    You’re welcome :-)

    Also, Desi, Tasha has a different view of “popular people” than most of us lol.

Leave a Reply

