A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

First Panic of Winter

So here’s the copy of the e-mail that I sent to the teachers whose students I was supposed to pull today:

“Alright, I was going to brave the storm and come in, but there were a few snags. First there was the accident at the end of my road, and living on a dead-end street, that kind of ties you up. Then it took close to half an hour to make the ten minute leg into Skowhegan. I understand it taking more time in the snow, but that was ridiculous! The fastest anyone was going on Rt. 2 was about 35mph. By the time I would reach school, well, I think we’d all be leaving getting out early.

Needless to say, I decided it would be better to take the mark against me for calling in so late in the game than risk trying to get all the way out there. Please apologize to the kiddos for me and I’ll see you all tomorrow!

Have a Wonderfully White Wednesday! Take care on your way home!”

The sad thing is, I’m not exaggerating. However, now I’m having a mild panic attack over whether or not this will mar my file with the school district. Has anyone had any similar experiences? I’m really freaking out here. I mean, I already used my two paid sick days, took two more days off due to the hives (but I have a doctor’s note for that), and now I called out because of a travel issue. I’m really paranoid that it’s going to be used against me for rehiring in the fall. I really can’t afford not being paid for today, but I also can’t afford the expenses that come with a possible car accident. Not to mention that seeing the one right at the end of my road kind of had being a little bit of a nervous nancy.

I’m really hoping you all can give some words of advice for this. I hate living so far from where I work…it’s so anxiety provoking.

3 responses to “First Panic of Winter

  1. sensiblevermonter December 18, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Goodness, I don’t have this issue, mainly because I catch a ride with someone in a 4×4 big truck, and if she can’t make it, well, no one can. But I tell you what, if they try to use that in the fall, they have MAJOR issues. When someone has excused absences, with a doctors note, you can’t call their bluff! They were really sick!!! And as for travel, it happens! Everyone who lives in New England knows that and has experienced it. So for them to do that would be foolish. I wouldn’t worry, not at all. You wrote a note to let them know, you have a squeeky clean record, and I’m sure EVERYONE loves you. So don’t worry. You’ll be fine. Really. :) *Hugs*

  2. habitsofamouse December 18, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Thanks, Desi. :-) Sometimes it’s just too easy to think of the worst case scenario.

  3. sensiblevermonter December 18, 2008 at 6:34 am

    It sure is, that I know and understand completely. That’s why we must always do our part in helping others to see beyond that when we can- because you never know when you’ll need a hand out of that rut. :)

Leave a Reply

