A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“Even as an adult I find it difficult to sleep on Christmas Eve. Yuletide excitement is a potent caffeine, no matter your age.” ~Carrie Latet

Yule/Christmas 2008

Yule/Christmas 2008

Well, it seems as though I finally have some time to put an actual update on here. Let me start off by saying that this year was the best holiday season in the longest time! I think a lot of it has to do with living so close to all my family now. It makes visiting a lot easier, and sense we see all of them more often, it really takes off the necessity of lengthy holiday visits.

I think that one of the biggest highlights of it all is that we had a real tree this year! Joe and I went out on his parents’ land and cut a small pine that would end up being blocked out by the others and would lack the needed room to grow. After thanking the fae for their contribution and welcoming them to come visit, we took the tree home where it was promptly decorated. Needless to say, the cat was excited that we didn’t pester him as much about his chewing habits. Since it was a real tree there was no real reason to worry if Ashes ended up enjoying the taste of pine. Thankfully, he decided he wasn’t too interested.

The baking that I did totaled up to a lot this year!

– Thanksgiving dinner

– Four pumpkin (from scratch) pies

– Chocolate chip cookies for work

– Peanut butter balls

– Candy cane cup-cakes

– Orange cranberry bread

You know what, though? I love EVERY minute of it! :-) Granted, it probably didn’t help my waste line, but hopefully now that we’re back to being dirt poor that will deminish as well.

As far as the spoils go, I have to say that evey though my brother royally spoiled use (XBox 360 plus RockBand), I think my favorite gift was the yarn that Joe got me. He went to one of the LYS here in Central Maine and bought me some Plymouth Yarn Baby Alpaca DK in color ways 207 and 100, also known as Cookies and Cream. I’m almost done making some fingerless knitting mitts with them and then I think I might make a kerchief or something of the like out of the rest. It’s the softest yarn I’ve ever felt! I absolutely love it!

Well, I hope that’s enough of an update to quench your thirsts for now. I need to head off to bed for another early morning tomorrow. Oh! A storm tomorrow night! I can’t wait! :-)

Leave a Reply

