A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“An unwatched pot boils immediately.” ~H.F. Ellis

Well, it looks like it’s been a while since I decided to update this thing. As you can  tell, I have also taken a few moments to change the design on here a bit. I hope it suits the time in my life a little better than the previous.

It seems as though I go on these “kicks” each time that I need something specific in my life. The last time I can remember going on a Star Trek kick was back in middle school. It was a time of self discovery that led me to find that I am bisexual, that I’m a Pagan, that I don’t fit in with many of my friends, and that I really don’t fit in with most of my family. This time, I really have no idea what I’m going to find. It’s hard to even imagine finding out more about myself. I like to think that I know myself well enough that there’s nothing that would surprise me. You know what though, sometimes being surprised can be a good thing. Sometimes we want the surprise to come and jump the shit out of us, to make us take notice and realize that we don’t know anything about who we are. We are beings of change; moving, flowing and tumbling through space with no idea what we’re heading towards.

My grandmother’s dying. No one wants to come out and say it though. She’s been dying since the day we buried my grandfather.The only reason she’s not dead is because she’s afraid of death.

I have  co-worker battling cancer with all she’s got. I admire her. She’s been kicking this thing for a while. It’s not just in her lungs, it’s in her bones, and in her brain…and yet she’s kicking ass and taking names. She finally decided to take some time off to get her strength back. It really hurt her to make that decision. She loves teaching and she loves her kids.

I have a student that made a 9 point gain on the math side of the NWEAs whereas the average gain was only 4 points. It makes me really happy. Happier than it probably ever should. That girl will go places if she can keep her head on her shoulders long enough to keep making gains instead of possibly going boy crazy.

I might have a new position soon. More to come when there’s more to say.

Stardate 62554.6

3 responses to ““An unwatched pot boils immediately.” ~H.F. Ellis

  1. Joe February 1, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    I’m so proud of you :-)

  2. habitsofamouse February 2, 2009 at 5:34 am

    If anything, you should be proud of that student. Had she not decided that math was more important than when she previously thought, even the best teacher in the world wouldn’t have been able to make an impact.

  3. sensiblevermonter February 2, 2009 at 6:40 am

    It’s great to hear about your student. :) And good luck on the new branch of self discovery, I look forward to following your progress.

Leave a Reply

