A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes.” ~Agatha Christie

I think that there are times when we forget that there are multiple callings for each of us. It’s ironic that in the haze of ill health and a cloud of medication the realizations that we make. There is such a thing as a primary calling, but does that mean that there is only a primary calling? Or can their be secondary ones? Nay, shall I mention tirchiary ones?

Just food for thought, that’s all.

Stardate 62556.8

2 responses to ““The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes.” ~Agatha Christie

  1. sensiblevermonter February 3, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I bet there are all kinds of opportunities for us out there that we could choose and would still be meant to follow. But I also feel that there are some that are stronger than others. However, just because they are stronger and possibly more important or meaningful doesn’t mean that they are easier to spot. Actually, I think they are probably harder to find.

    I know for sure right now that this is not where I’m meant to be. I work hard, do my job right and well, but no where do I find meaning in what I do. It’s sad. And I know I’ll tell people until I’m blue in the face that “Yes, I like my job, it’s rewarding, blah blah blah.” I think I only say that because that’s what people expect to hear from me. Especially my family. They expect so much from me, I don’t want to dissapoint them. Truth is, I’m bored, hate my boss, and find no meaning in my job. And that really does make me quite miserable, but even I hide that fact from myself. But what have I got to choose in this economy? Nothing. So, I stay with it, working hard, doing a damn good job, and hoping that after oh, 5 years of experience, it can be a good building block for something more important and more what I’m meant to do.

    Wow. I really like your posting of your quest. I would have never said that just now if it wasn’t for your post. And it’s good to have it out. I hope you don’t mind, but I might be piggy-backing your quest for inner enlightenment slightly from time to time. It feels good and who knows, maybe it’s one of your tirchiary or quantanary callings. :) Thank you.

  2. habitsofamouse February 3, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Not a problem, love! It seems that in quests like these, the more people along the road, the better. After all, the solitary quest is one that we all battle internally, do we really need to do such externally as well? I think not.

Leave a Reply

