A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“A mathematician is a device for turning coffee into theorems.” ~Paul Erdos

So yesterday at work was fun, for lack of a better term. The MEAs started, a day late due to the snow storm, and a dollar short since neither the principal nor the VP were there for personal reasons. (Shad’s been administrative sub for the past week and he’s doing a killer job. Part of me wishes he could just take over until the end of the year, but that would be hard since we have a wicked awesome VP. Now if he took over as principal, that would be a different story.) The MEAs, for the most part, meant no AM students, a lot of down time, and a lot of not having anything to do . Since I got all the planning done for the groups last week, I’m a little lacking on work right now. Which isn’t good. It gives me too much time to think.

Also, there was a complaint put in by a parent on the new ed. tech. that’s subbing in my spot. She’s a nice lady and all, but doesn’t know a spit of math it seems. Granted, she’s been working mainly with literacy and speech for the longest time, and it’s a rough subject to recall from memory. BUT she is apparently asking the kids how to do things. Now, I have my own groups duing these times and she’s been bugging me during groups as to what to do, how to to it, and when. Needless to say, as much as I dispise scripted programs, I’m pushing her to use the VMath in a way to get her on track. (This program is so scripted it tells you what to ask and what to look for in the student’s answer.) In some ways, it looks like it would almost be better if I was doing this all by myself. I think part of the issue is that teaching is indeed 3/4 theater, and this lady can’t act to save her life! Hopefully it’ll all work itself out once she starts using the program. I’m a little paranoid, though, since I’m taking the day off and all.

Alright, time to change topics. I mentionde the other day (or was it yesterday) that I’ve been getting back into the swing of working on the house here and there. I’m hoping tonight to be able to take a couple pictures. Yes, pictures of my house! The house that has been in utter chaos and mass grossness since we both started work and haven’t been able to work out a half-way decent habit of cleaning what and when. I’ve been working on the kitchen floor some. Yes, it’s on the list to get replaced, but we have the oil tank that needs to be redone this summer first. SO for now I’m covering the really bad spots in the linolium with the sticky tiles. It doesn’t look that bed, actually, and it should save what’s left of the floor. Had sticky tiles proven to be more protecion from water than regular linolium, I probably would redo my entire floor with them. But, they don’t. Not to mention they look kind of cheesy on a large scale.

Today’s agenda:

  • DMV – license renweal
  • KVCAP – pills and set up appointment
  • Russ Dodge – beef and goat cheese
  • Staples – photo paper
  • Dishes
  • Second section of kitchen floor
  • Bird cage
  • Start paper for course — two weeks early!
Leave a Reply

