A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Spring needs to have sprung YESTERDAY.

I am really tired of looking out the window at white. Thankfully it is slowly being replaced by geen.

I’ll have to come back online later to post some photos, but the seedlings I started about two weeks ago are up. The only ones still behind the eightball are the greenpeppers, but they normally take about two and a half weeks to sprout. All fifteen silver fir tomatoes, all fifteen cherry tomatoes, two pumpkins, three squash, six string beans, and six peas have come up with seemingly no issues. We bought the tomatoe and pepper seeds. The pea and bean starters we had left over from last year. Our pride and joy right now are the pumpkins and squash. Those are ones we “harvested” last year from a couple that we bought and some that we were given. Now we just need to get the starter potatoes in a few weeks and order the corn seeds, or make a trip down to Johnny’s Seeds. We’re planning on next weekend to start cutting up the trees to make the raised beds out of. I love the feeling of knowing that we’ll have blanched peas and beans in our freezer, pureed squash and pumpkin for baking, and sauce by the cans in the basement all winter!

In other news, I’m finally back to knitting. I seemed to have taken a month long hiatus from it. After Grammy passed away at the end of February, I had no want to do any crafts. However, after the melt down I had the other night, it has come to my attention that I can not let my emotions rule whether or not I need to perform certain actions, even if such actions are as simple as picking up a knitting needle.  So right now I’m working on a small gift for someone and taking a break from the larger crochet projects.

In other news, I finally dyed my hair again! Or, should I say, Joe dyed it for me.  Back to red. Thankfully! For some reason my real hair color (medium brown) has never really seemed to fit my personality. I do have to say that the vibrance of the color is a bit striking, but very pretty overall. Like I said, I’ll have to post some pictures later.

3 responses to “Spring needs to have sprung YESTERDAY.

  1. sensiblevermonter March 22, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear about your Grammy. It’s strange how we can sense when something is going to happen- I remember your post about “senior year” passings. Just like the day I could smell and sense change in the wind the morning before my Grandfather passed. The loss of someone hurts, a lot, and while we should morn, the best thing for us to do is to let their spirit live on. To pick up your crafts again and to do things she use to love to do or would encourage you to do is great. Though they may have passed onto their next life, we will always remember and love them. :)

    Happy note- hooray for gardens!!!!!! :) The snow is creeping away slowly, and now that spring has really sprung, there’s no going back!! I am soooooo excited to start my seedling!!! I think I may later today if I get a chance, if not next wekeend. Then the next couple weeks we’ll take what we have leftover from our weeks budget and put it towards the purchasing of a spade, rake, and hoe. Then we can get to work turning that weed breeding ground into garden area! YAY! I’m soooo excited!!! Ooooh so it sounds like you are thinking of canning… have you done it before or are you just really ready to experiment??? Because I would LOVE to learn how! If all works out, the ability to make pickles, tomato sauce, and apple sauce to can would make me super duper happy! I’m just so scared to try!

    PS- I’m really excited to see your pictures! I have to agree about your red hair, I really truely adore it. :)

  2. habitsofamouse March 22, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    About the canning, my mom’s going to come up and show me how she does it. When we lived out on Isthmus Road…eons ago…she used to can a ton from the garden! I’m really excited for it! I think it will be a ton of fun to do.

  3. sensiblevermonter March 22, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Oh wow, that’s wonderful!! I’ll be really excited to hear how it goes for you!!!

Leave a Reply

