A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

It’s been over a month…

…since my last post, so I figured it was time to do one.

The new girl and our old boy are getting along very well. Granted, Belle, the border collie, is very unpermissive about allowing Ashes on the bed at night, so we’re trying to get her to know that she is not allowed to sleep on my side of the bed. It worked last night: Ashes was able to come up on the bed and spend the entire night with me. :-)

In the work world, there’s been no new bites as far as a classroom position goes, which is really depressing. However, I have an interview next Tuesday for a very houghty-tougthy clothing store in Waterville for a part-time gig. Who knows how many hours a week it may be, but it would be much better than nothing, I suppose.

On that same note, I’m kind of enjoying not having to work. I’ve been getting more done around the house and have actually have had time to cook! Last night I made no-bake cookies containing raw sugar, real butter, and real peanut butter for the first time. I think they came out even better than with the “regular” stuff! Also, as I type, I have soft-set strawberry jam working in the bread machine. I can’t wait to see how it tastes!

2 responses to “It’s been over a month…

  1. sensiblevermonter June 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    OMG! Your no-bakes sound awesome! I need to make some! YUM! Don’t you love having time to bake? I’m seriously thinking about making some strawberry scones. I’ve never made scones, but these are said to be easier and slightly different. I’m thinking about it. Oooooh soft-set jam??? Care to elaborate? I’ve been thinking about splurging and buying a water bath and start some canning.

  2. habitsofamouse June 30, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Soft-set normally means with no pectin. However, it didn’t seem to work right…so I might have to pick up some pectin and mix it in by hand.

    Scones are really easy! (Especially since there’s no yeast or rising involved.) If you find a good recipe, let me know!

Leave a Reply

