A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Lughnasadh, Lunasa or Lammas

Those three names that I just listed share one thing in common: they are a holiday in Paganism. Actually, they are the same holiday, but with different names. While trying to attune my life to Nature and the Courses she chooses me to take, I can’t help but think that this is a holiday that I have missed every year since I first started calling myself Pagan.

Lammas, as I tend to call it, normally falls on either July 31 or August 1. Traditionally on August 1, Lammas (loaf-mass day) is the first of three harvest festivals in Paganism; the other two being Mabon and Samhain. Since Lammas is traditioanlly the first wheat harvest of the year, it was customary in England to bring a loaf of bread into the church with you. A farmer was also bound to deliver the first cuts of wheat to the landlord on this day as well.

I’m hoping that this year I will have time to make a loaf of wheat bread by hand in honor of the holiday, and possibly make some sort of holiday hanging out of cut wheat to have out during the 3 days before and after, but we’ll see if I come up with any ideas on that.

In all reality, I’m really excited that I noticed Lammas was coming up since it looks like we might at leas get some mild harvest out of the potatoes and peas. Not much else will be ready unfortunately. But, apparently patience is a Course that Nature wants me to understand fully this Moon Cycle.

Goodness! Speaking of bread, I just realized I might want to get working on that loaf I need to do today. It will be interesting, seeing how I’m thinking I might try not using the full cycle on the machine and bake it off in the oven. Joe seems to gripe a bit when it’s not “bread shaped.”

2 responses to “Lughnasadh, Lunasa or Lammas

  1. sensiblevermonter July 14, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Funny, it is one of those festivals that tends to get passed by, that and Imbolc. I’m interested in what you come up with. I think your investigation might cause me to look into it a little too. I like your wheat decoration idea!

    Yeah, come August 1st, I doubt we’ll have anything ready for harvest then either. We have tomatoes growing, but sooo slow and who knows if they’ll get red by then. All and all, we’ve come to the conclusion that we will get a harvest this year, it’ll just be really late and pretty small. Heck, I’ll take whatever I can get. :)

    OH! Tell me how the baking bread in the oven goes! I’ve been wanting to use the machine for the dough process with bread and then put it in the oven, just never done it. So if you do, please let me know how it goes! :)

  2. habitsofamouse July 15, 2009 at 6:07 am

    I tried a raisin bread recipe where you had to add the raisins during one of the rising cycles. It didn’t go so well. We ended up with all the raisins at the bottom. BUT it still tastes really good. :-) Joe’s using it for his PB&J for work today.

Leave a Reply

