A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“It is doubtless true that religion has been the world’s psychiatrist throughout the centuries.” ~Karl Menninger

A quick word on whom this Karl Menninger fellow is. For those of you who are not into the realm of psychiatry and psychology at all, he was an American psychiatrist whom practiced from 1919, when he opened the Menninger Clinic with his father, up until his death in 1990. He was one of the few psychiatrists who held firm to his belief that some mental illnesses were caused by religious influences, or lack of religion for stability. Given what we see in society, the degradation of humanity and the lack of respect for fellow man, in tandem with the falling numbers for religions and people who hold any faith world-wide, but specifically here in America, topped off with more “mental illnesses” being noticed, I can’t help but wonder if he may have been on the right track.

While I would love to say that I have become more apt to study my religion int he past month, I can not. Life has gotten in the way. I know that’s not an excuse, but that’s the bone of the matter. On that same note, I have allowed myself to become more open with the ideas of what I believe in. Take, for example, birth control. I do believe that a couple should do everything in their power not to have children unless they are financially, emotionally, relationship-ly, and religiously ready. However, despite being on an oral contraceptive for the past six years, I do not agree with the use of man-made drugs in order to stop such an event. These hormones change you chemical, mental, and physical make-up to the point that you are not necessarily who you are intended to be.

I have been on nine different pills, all with severe side-effects. Sometimes these side effects were simply harsh cramps during my menstrual cycle, but other times they were severe, manic almost, mood swings that left me feeling hopeless, irritable, and sometimes suicidal. My aggression issues were almost impossible to control taking these pills. Not to mention one of the biggest gripes of all, I had almost no third eye.

Now that I’m off the pill, it seems all those negative side-effects have dissipated. Joe has even made comment to the fact that I’m much calmer despite all the financial and personal issues we currently have going on. I have even been able to “talk” with my guides again and have a stronger sense of when someone else is around on a different plane.

The real reason as to why I’m writing in this blog about this rather personal issue is that, as woman, I think we are under the assumption that we have no choice but to pump ourselves full of man-made chemicals in order to control what happens to us and when. My current outlook on this: hogwash. There are other ways to try and prevent your life from going down a path you don’t want it to (condoms, fertility charting, abstinence, spermicide) that don’t mess with your chemical make-up and who you are. If, given you are being careful and taking at least one precaution according to the way it’s supposed to be used, you end up with a child, then it may just be that the Divine has intervened. Am I saying not to use protection? Gods no! Am I saying I would have done things differently these past six years, maybe. What it comes down to for me, is that I’m surprised that we, as a nation of females with freedom, have decided to buy into a thought process and a pill process simply because it’s easy, allows us not to think, and allows us to avoid the possible consequences of our actions.

Leave a Reply

