A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Guns vs. Me

“I believe everybody in the world should have guns.  Citizens should have bazookas and rocket launchers too.  I believe that all citizens should have their weapons of choice.  However, I also believe that only I should have the ammunition.  Because frankly, I wouldn’t trust the rest of the goobers with anything more dangerous than string.”  ~Scott Adams

In case you can’t tell by the above quote, I have an issue with guns. Trust me, posting about this is not how I wanted to start my solstice, but it is something that is currently stuck in my head at the moment. I don’t care whether you want to agree with me or disagree with me, nor do I mind if you open up an adult debate. However, this is a topic I will   my mind on. It may be a product of past life experiences (having been a soldier and such) or from the annoyance that everyone in our faithless society feels like they can not trust their fellow-man to the point that they need a gun.

I will say it plainly: If you have a gun, you are a coward. Obviously, there are those with legitimate reasons for owning a gun (abuse ex-spouses and work, primarily), but not many at all. If you have no reason to own a gun, no actual cause except for your own fear, than you are a coward. Now, I know this will strike a chord with some, especially the husband if he ever reads this, but that, in a nut shell, is how I feel.

The United States has always claimed to be a nation of peace, justice, and freedom. I know right now that there are many that are stating, “It’s my right to bear arms, it’s in the Constitution.” Keep in mind, that the Constitution was written in a time and place much difference to today. Neighbors, for the most part, were well distanced and the army did not have the ability to move as swiftly as they do today. You could also take the exact wording of the amendment and translate it in another way from the “norm.”

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

I see this as not so much the individual right to bear arms, but the right for a militia to exist and bear arms. by removing an un-necessary piece of the sentence, which in no way changes the intended meaning, you are given this:

A well regulated Militia, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Which, from my view-point is like what I have said previously: we have a right to a militia. If all citizens are not part of that militia, why on Earth do they need to be armed?!

Part of my belief also stems from my feelings towards the social contract that we have built as a society. As I have mentioned before, we claim to be a nation of free, loving, and just-seeking peoples, yet we act in fear constantly of our brethren. It begins to bring up the chicken-or-the-egg concept: Did we begin to fear each other before we started arming ourselves, or only after a few morons decided that guns were a more effective way to settle matters? Regardless of the origin, I feel that the more one distrusts their kindred, the more likely that distrust will come into being. If you walk around with a concealed weapon thinking that one day you might need it, than that day will indeed come. Not because you were “right,” but because the cosmic vibrations of “I’m ready for this, so bring it to me!” that you’re subconsciously dealing out will drive that type of person right to you. They feed off from fear and violence at the spiritual level, not at the surface.

The only thing I truly have left to say on the subject, or at least for this post, is that if you do not have faith in fellow-man, than at least have faith in you Divine, whatever form you choose. Somethings happen in this life. I personally have faith that the Lord and Lady will protect me from the unnecessary. Does that mean that I go around driving like a moron and not using my seat belt? No. Those are precautions that do not poison my mind with thoughts of violence. Those are precautions that are not going to possibly hurt or kill someone. Those are precautions that are not going to put me at risk.  If I’m meant to get gunned down walking through a WalMart parking lot, than there’s probably a reason for that. I refuse to spend my life in fear because of the “what could happens.”

“I will not carry a gun…. I’ll carry your books, I’ll carry a torch, I’ll carry a tune, I’ll carry on, carry over, carry forward, Cary Grant, cash and carry, carry me back to Old Virginia, I’ll even hari-kari if you show me how, but I will not carry a gun!”  ~Hawkeye, M*A*S*H, “Officer of the Day”

5 responses to “Guns vs. Me

  1. jonolan December 21, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Well, there would have been one more raped and possibly murdered woman if in my past I hadn’t both owned a firearm and illegally – at that time – carried it with me.

    But hey…I’m a “coward” because I distrust a number of what passes for people in this nation, realize that the police respond and investigate instead of protecting, and take such steps as a necessary to protect myself, my family, and any other law-abiding citizen that might need it.

    If that’s cowardice, then pain me yellow…but pass the ammunition. ;)

  2. dinosaursinsocks December 21, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Eloquently put :)

    Thanks for being brave enough to share (and for the record, I completely agree. It’s 1 of the reasons I could never live in the States)

  3. habitsofamouse December 21, 2009 at 11:00 am

    “Pass the ammunition….” Damn it. There’s a song that has that as a lyric in and I can’t think of what it is now….That’s gunna bugger me all day.

    Dinosaursinsocks — Before college I was planning on moving to either Canada or Ireland, but I found DH and finally found how much of a home Maine can be. However, we have agreed that if the policies in the States keep heading towards a climate in which we do not want to raise our children, than we may just move to Canada eventually.

    Thank you for calling me brave, but I don’t know if I would call it that. Maybe foolhearty and a little stupid. ;-)

  4. jonolan December 21, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    The song is, in all likelihood, some variant “Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition” by Frank Loesse circa 1941.

    Down went the gunner, a bullet was his fate
    Down went the gunner, then the gunners mate
    Up jumped the sky pilot, gave the boys a look
    And manned the gun himself as he laid aside The Book, shouting
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition!
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition!
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition and we’ll all stay free!

    Praise the Lord and swing into position!
    Can’t afford to sit around and wishin’
    Praise the Lord we’re all between perdition
    and the deep blue sea!

    Yes the sky pilot said it
    You’ve got to give him credit
    for a son – of – gun – of – a – gunner was he,
    Shouting;
    Praise the Lord we’re on a mighty mission!
    All aboard, we’re not a – goin’ fishin;
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition and we’ll all stay free!

    • habitsofamouse December 21, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      Huh, I’ll have to look up that song. It sounds familiar, but the one that I actually was thinking of, and thankfully finally remembered enough lyrics to pin it down is actually a Dixie Chicks song, “Sin Wagon.”

      “He pushed me ’round
      now I’m drawin’ the line
      He lived his life
      now I’m gonna go live mine
      I’m sick of wastin’ my time
      Well now I’ve been good for way too long
      Found my red dress and I’m gonna throw it on
      ‘Bout to get too far gone

      Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
      Need a little BIT more of my TWELVE ounce nutrition
      One more helpin’ of what I’ve been havin’
      I’m takin’ my turn on the sin wagon

      On a mission to make something happen
      Feel like Delilah lookin’ for Samson
      Do a little mattress dancin’
      That’s right I said mattress dancin’

      Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
      Need a little bit more
      of what I’ve been missin’
      I don’t know where I’ll be crashin’
      But I’m arrivin’ on a sin wagon

      When it’s my turn to march up to glory
      I’m gonna have one hell of a story
      That’s if he forgives me

      Oh lord please forgive me

      Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
      Need a little bit more of that sweet salvation
      They may take me
      with my feet draggin’
      I’ll fly away on a sin wagon”

Leave a Reply

