A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Job searching, Master’s courses, and trying to decide my future.

I apologize to those that read this blog about my lack of posting as of late. I’ve been right out straight with those listed in the title line.

It’s that time of year against where I’m once more on the hunt for a job in the teaching field. I’m trying to open myself up much more this year to applying for pretty much anything that comes open. Right now, a lot of the positions are roughly an hour travel time. While right now I travel 40 minutes to sub, I don’t know if I could handle an hour drive time, one way, five days a week. Joe keeps saying that it might be worthwhile to do for a year. I’ve heard such from others in my profession; the only one who spoke against it rives an hour and forty minutes, so he’s definitely someone who’s opinion I need to consider.

I’m also on the search for a good summer job to help bring in more money this year and help try to save up to get some of the major projects done around the house. I’m going to be dropping my application off at the YMCA in Waterville today in hopes of locking in a summer camp counselor spot. (The only thing that might wave me off from such is the fact that I can’t swim.)

As far as my Master’s courses are concerned, it’s crunch time. There’s only three weeks left of the year and I have two twenty page papers I need to write before the end of it all. Thankfully, they seem to be coming along now that I’ve gotten more motivation to work on them. The history one is wonderful, reading and analyzing the journals of John Edwards Godfrey. I’m completely done taking my notes, now I just have to go through and organize them, adding in pieces here and there, write up my outline, and get on with it.  The liberal studies one is a tad boring, which is analyzing the past fifty years of Down East Magazine. I’m still in the note-taking process, but will be done with that Thursday at the latest and then I can move on to the outline and rough draft process.

Deciding my future has been a bit of a battle. I would love to teach college at some point, specifically in Liberal Studies, thus my the current degree I’m working on, but I don’t know if that’s very foreseeable. I’m also having a hard time deciding what track to focus on in my Master’s, whether I want to stay on my history specification, or move towards Franco-American or Wabanaki studies. I’m really at odds on that.

If anyone has any opinions or suggestions on any of this, PLEASE feel free to leave a comment!

2 responses to “Job searching, Master’s courses, and trying to decide my future.

  1. sensiblevermonter April 14, 2010 at 6:22 am

    As for the long traveling, do you mind driving that far? You have to think that you wont have to drive when conditions are bad because they will be canceling school those days. Reliability of vehicle is another. If something were to happen, you’ll have to have a plan B always ready. But if you dont mind the drive, why not give it a try?
    Deciding a future is always a battle because it’s hard to be able to put your finger on what it is exactly that you know will make you happy later on. Some people have no trouble with that, but people like you and I who always like to plan things out in advance and enjoy some structure, can be scared as hell about that stuff. I don’t think it matters what you focus your masters on if you later want to teach at college at some level, I think both would help you out. Can you talk to some professors in all those areas and see if that would help you feel it out?

  2. habitsofamouse April 14, 2010 at 6:38 am

    The ability of driving that distance really scares me. I just keep thinking about harvest time this fall, winter travel issues, and the possibility of dealing with an older dog who can possibly lose bowel control later on. I think the main issue right now is the sleep thing. We go to bed at nine and get up at five. Say if I work an hour and half away, if I have to stay until 6 for parent/teacher conferences, then by the time I get home, I have only an hour and half with the husband and the animals.

    You’re right, for people like us who plan ahead, it’s wicked scary.

    You know, I never really thought about talking to my advisor about the structure of my classes until recently. I’m thinking about setting up a meeting with her after the end of the semester. (It’s a bit crazy right now.)

Leave a Reply

