A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“Just Keep Swiming.”

I’m hoping that I will be able to start updating in both this and the family blog a bit more often. Things have been a bit nutty as of late, but they seem to be calming down for the time being. Funerals and outwards grief seems to be over; family that came from out-of-state are now on their way back out; the fire near a family member’s house was put out with no damage done to any of the nearby surroundings; work is starting to pick up and help bring in money.

With everything being headed up by positivity right now, I’m trying to jump on that vibe and flow with it. A big piece of this is trying to reclaim the body that I once had. The fear of never finding a job, never starting a career, the stress of starting a Master’s program I’m now second guessing, and the loss of our Angel Baby has brought some poor eating habits and a severe lack of exercise. I’m currently at the heaviest weight I have been since meeting my husband, and I feel horrible.

That being said, I have worked out a five-week plan that I hope to implement starting tonight. I was going to wait until after Samhain, but sooner than later would probably be a huge plus.

Week 1

1 mile walk

2 miles on stationary bike

60 sit-ups

20 push-ups

20 squats

 

Week 2

1 mile walk

2.5 miles on stationary bike

70 sit-ups

30 push-ups

40 squats

 

Week 3

1 mile walk

3 miles on stationary bike

80 sit-ups

40 push-ups

60 squats

 

Week 4

1 mile walk

3.5 miles on stationary bike

90 sit-ups

40 push-ups

80 squats

 

Week 5

1 mile walk

4 miles on stationary bike

100 sit-ups

50 push-ups

100 squats

I think that this is really doable given it’s very similar to what I used to do during my senior year of high school. I would have loved to put more time into walking, but I know that as the cold weather approaches that I’ll wimp out, so it’s safer to plan for the stationary bike now and avoid the impending doom of my exercise plan if it was written differently.

Aside from this, I’m also adjusting my diet into more of a rice-based one like I had in college, which really works well with my body. The spiritual side of all of this is to hopefully take the time to meditate either before or shortly after exercising.

If I’m dedicated enough I should be able to reach my goal weight by my birthday in February. Wish me luck! Heaven knows I’ll need it!

Leave a Reply

