A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

My First Set of Tea Cups and Saucers

For this year’s present alone, I will forever love my parents dearly. I told them one of the most wonderful things that they could get me this holiday would be a pair of tea cups. I didn’t have anything fancy enough to offer anyone if I ever have the pleasure of having someone to tea, but I most certainly do now!

"The Ice House from The Friendly Village" by Johnson Bros.

The saucers are so beautiful! While it's the same print as the cups, I almost adore them more as you can see the entire picture in one glance.

The coloring of the artwork is gorgeous!

I love the little detail on the inside rim. It's only on one side, so you only see it if you drink out of the cup a certain way.

I didn't notice the handles until I went to take photos! I love all the little details that went into the artwork on this piece.

What’s even more amazing to me is that these were made in England by Johnson Bros., which closed their British shops in 2003 and sent their work to China because it was cheaper. It’s wonderful to have something that will forever be so sentimentally loved for so many reasons!

6 responses to “My First Set of Tea Cups and Saucers

  1. karin December 28, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    My Grandmother collected tea cups. She NEVER drank her tea from a mug always a tea cup. When she died I was fortunate to be gifted two of her tea cups. I always bring them out for a special occasion.

    Speaking of tea, I am lucky to have a husband on vacation this week and he can watch my little one for a little mama time. Thursday, Friday or Saturday?

    We could meet for some knitting maybe? or tea?

    My email is ########.

    (EDIT: Karin, after I wrote down your email, I scrambled it so the spam bot can’t pick it up. Hope that’s okay! ~TashaMarie)

  2. karin December 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    P.S. I am on Ravelry as FleecenikFarm….

  3. habitsofamouse December 29, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Bethany and Kat – Thank you so much for the comments on the tea cups. I absolutely love them! (I don’t think I can say that enough.) Mom wasn’t going to get them at first since she didn’t think that they were “usable” ones and were for show. Dad went back and asked about them, bless his heart. :-)

    Karin – I shot you off an e-mail already. Let’s set something up! :-)

  4. Pingback: Snap-Shot Cleaning: Kitchen « Multifarious Raymonds

Leave a Reply

