A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Back to the Stars

As part of trying to reclaim my faith and spirituality, I’m going to try and pay closer attention to my astrological birth sign. Back in college I nearly lived by the ebbing and flowing of my sign. I think I might need to get back into that groove to at least some extent. A close friend of mind posted a wonderful article in her blog about astrology and what is to come with the year of the rabbit which included a link to a site that eventually lead me down the path to my receiving a free natal reading.

While I’m more apt to read the printed copy I did for myself, I also saved the entire thing as a PDF. I do have to admit that I had to guess a little on the time of my birth (roughly 6am), but I feel confident enough, especially given the results, that this is fairly accurate.

As I have always known, my sun sign of Aquarius has always fit me well.

Often a bit aloof and even standoffish, Aquarians nonetheless are usually well-liked. They are curious and observant, and tolerant in a broad sense. Prejudice and bias is offensive to the typical Aquarius. Aquarians are generally very clever, witty, and intellectual. They value progress and frankness. It’s difficult to throw Aquarians for a loop–they’re generally on top of things. There is a bit of reformer in Aquarius. They’ll try to get you to see through superficiality, and encourage you to be open and forthright. “Be true to yourself” and “Don’t follow the crowd” are mottos we easily associate with this sign. Aquarians need space and value personal freedom. Any attempt to box them in will likely fail.

What I never knew, among other pieces of this report, was that my moon sign is that of Virgo. I was surprised at how well a lot of this fit.

Lunar Virgos find security in the little things in life. They feel most content when they’ve straightened out all the details of everyday life. Many of them enjoy running errands, paying bills, and balancing the books. They take care of these things happily, although some won’t let on. In fact, many Lunar Virgos are quite practiced at nagging and complaining. As long as they are appreciated, however,
these people will help you take care of your life, too.

***

Some people with Virgo Moons are accused of being underachievers. While it may be true that Lunar Virgos can lack self-confidence, many are–quite simply–content with living “regular”, unassuming lives. They appreciate simplicity, and are often most comfortable when they’re not getting too much attention from the world at large.

***

These people express their affection for the people they care about in little, but practical, ways. They can be a little stiff when it comes to open, gushy displays of affection. Lunar Virgos are often shy with new people. However, when they are comfortable, they are anything but shy. More often than not, others can count on Moon in Virgo people. They are reliable and trustworthy. Above all else, Lunar Virgos are practical.

While there was even more information in the reading (19 pages to be exact), I thought that the moon in Virgo portion was most interesting. It really explained to me some of the ways I feel, perceive others, and do things that I never felt were really in sync with my Antiquarian nature. With further in depth study onto the various portions of my natal chart, maybe I can start understanding myself in a way that I never have.

3 responses to “Back to the Stars

  1. Jen January 3, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    I’m so glad you got your natal chart!

    The sun sign is only a teeny piece of the whole picture. The moon sign is the inner you. As Joanne Martine Woolfolk wrote in “The Only Astrology Book You’ll Ever Need” (that is never too far from my hands): “In astrology the Moon stands for emotions, instincts, the unconscious. Whereas the Sun represents your will, the Moon represents your instinctive reactions. Evangeline Adams, the most famous astrologer of the early twentieth century, wrote that the Sun signifies your individuality and the Moon signifies your personality. Other astrologers define the Sun’s influence as a vital force and the Moon as an unconscious force. In essence, the Moon represents the side of you that reacts before you have time to think” (193).

    You’ll find your ascendant and houses interesting, too, when you get that far. It’s all about where we came from, why we’re here, and where we’re going next. =)

  2. Tania January 10, 2011 at 2:29 am

    I got my natal chart done a long time ago. In fact, it’s sitting right here, waiting for me to peek at it again. It’s fascinating to me how very accurate they are.

  3. Pingback: Back to The Stars – Part II « A Mouse’s Tale

Leave a Reply

