A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Back to The Stars – Part II

Since I’m very new to the whole astrology ting, I’m trying to take my time and slowly digest what makes me…well, me. My last post specifically looked at my moon sign and how it fit snuggly with who I am. This time I’m looking at my ascendant, or rising sign, also known as the first House. Cafe Astrology has a really great definition of what the Ascendant sign means:

The Ascendant (or rising sign) is often considered the mask one wears when meeting others. Perhaps it is most aptly thought of as the automatic responses to one’s environment. The Ascendant shows our natural defenses and how we cope with day-to-day issues. The energies of the sign and condition of the Ascendant are most overt and obvious to others. The Ascendant shows an individual’s first, natural reaction to new people and situations.

According to my natal chart, my rising sign is that of Capricorn. The general summary of Capricorn rising had these interesting pieces in it that seemed to definitely fit who I felt I am rather well:

There’s a seriousness to Capricorn rising people that is unmistakable. Even when they’re joking around, it’s of the deadpan variety. In fact, plenty of very humorous people have Capricorn Ascendants. It’s all in the timing…and the fact that they don’t giggle before the joke is over.

***

In the case of Capricorn Ascendants, these were the children who were considered the responsible ones. Sometimes, it was they themselves who looked around them and felt the need to be the structured, dependable, and responsible members of the family. So, often, Capricorn rising people adopted a strong sense of tradition, family, and responsibility at a very young age.

Capricorn rising people are generally big on family, and forever worry about security–for themselves and their dependents. They come across to others as hard-working, competent, and dependable people. What others may not see under that cool, even suave, exterior, is an inner struggle: they often ask themselves, “Am I doing enough?”, “Do I deserve all of this?”, “How can I make things better?” They worry a lot about the future.

I almost laughed out loud reading the last part. You can even ask my husband: I’m constantly wondering if what I do is enough, if I deserve how wonderful my life is, and I’m always searching for ways to make our own lives and the lives of our families better. I can never stop fretting about the future and what may or may not come.

On another site I found these two snippets that brought a smile to my face as they fit me more than anything I had read so far:

Capricorn rising tends to approach life in a guarded, conservative way, though they may have other, more colorful and imaginative sides. They are realistic and don’t usually take foolish chances or get carried away by overly optimistic or idealistic schemes. In fact, they frequently have a cynical view of such things.

***

The appearance of Capricorn rising is aloof, cool, sometimes even remote. These are the “old souls” of the zodiac. Their hair may gray prematurely.

I think above all else, I loved this peace of my natal chart:

Saturn rules this Ascendant, and this generally means a kind of backwards way of living – as children, they are serious and bear a lot of responsibility; and as they grow up, they age beautifully, learning how to loosen up.

No wonder things feel so different now….

Leave a Reply

