A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Finding Peace of Mind

With the impending debut of our first child in November, I’ve been reflecting on a lot lately. While there are those that would claim my actions came hastily, such is far from the truth. While I understand that this is a world of instant communication and gratification, such can be dangerous to the peace of mind that one seeks. That being said, there have been many changes that I have made as of late in order to hopefully begin rearranging my life in order to be conducive to a more peaceful life.

Part of this was to clear a lot of people off from Facebook in order to create more privacy. I’ve also left several groups on Ravelry that I had not been active in for a long time. These changes provoked unwanted anger and misunderstanding from some — misunderstanding that I have done my best to clear up, in some cases with success, and not so with others. While I am sorry for any hurt feelings caused by these misunderstandings, I am not sorry for the decisions I have made.

On a similar line, there is a beautiful post at Zenhabits that fit right along the ideas of what have been floating through my life as of late. While I won’t re-post the entire piece, I will share a snippet that I found right on the money.

Let me let you in on a little secret to finding peace of mind: see the glass as already broken.

See, the cause of our stress, anger and irritation is that things don’t go the way we like, the way we expect them to. Think of how many times this has been true for you.

And so the solution is simple: expect things to go wrong, expect things to be different than we hoped or planned, expect the unexpected to happen. And accept it.

The newest change in my life will be to try and see the glass as already broken.

Leave a Reply

