A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

The Simple Life

What is “the simple life?”

Every time I read about someone’s journey to live a “simple life” I pause to think what sort of life may be simple for them. To some a simple life includes having no technology in the house whatsoever, to others it means keeping an electronic for everything so they have to do nothing. Luck much else in this world, “the simple life” is all in what you make of it.

For me, the simple life is built of simple moments. Watering the garden, helping the husband to stack wood, spending time with our animals, working on a knitting project, baking fresh bread…

The simple life  includes keeping my home organized and clean. The dishes are stacked, the laundry is in the washer, the floors can be seen, the cobwebs don’t cover the walls…

The simple life means staying active spiritually. I pray often, I meditate when needed, I call the gods, goddesses, and ancestors that can help me in my time of need…

However, even my version of the simple life is not simple. It comes with turmoil. There are those that don’t understand the idea of an individual’s concept of the “simple life” and that it can change from person to person. I used to feel guilt and anxiety when others didn’t understand the reasoning behind the life style that I choose. From attacks against my religion, to comments made about my hobbies, to outrage over my lack of social conformity in the technological realm, the comments and glares directed at me (and behind my back) used to get me riled to the point that I would break down and give in.

I can say that, while it’s been a battle the past few months, I have survived.

Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent.  It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.  ~E.F. Schumacher

One response to “The Simple Life

  1. swanski June 17, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    My simple life sounds like yours, minus stacking the wood. I think it’s important to be able to breathe and feel a sense of peace. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

