A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Renewal

“We are not evil. We don’t harm or seduce people.
We are not dangerous. We are ordinary people like you.
We have families, jobs, hopes, and dreams. We are not a cult.
This religion is not a joke. We are not what you think we are from looking at T.V.
We are real. We laugh, we cry. We are serious. We have a sense of humor.
You don’t have to be afraid of us. We don’t want to convert you.
And please don’t try to convert us.
Just give us the same right we give you–to live in peace.
We are much more similar to you than you think.”

Margot Adler – Wiccan priestess

A close friend of mine, a Sister, told me recently that she was slightly jealous of the fact that I had “found” a religion. I don’t know if one would really call it “finding” a religion so much as that I was called to Paganism and Witchcraft with every thread of being in me. It’s not an easy road by any means. I know very few Pagans and even fewer Witches. While it’s said that Paganism is one of the fastest growing religions in the United States, that doesn’t mean that it’s become any easier to be a part of it. If anything, it has become increasingly more difficult to be Pagan, especially one that is “out of the broom closet.” Television, media, and fluff bunnies have all made Paganism in its many sects look like a farce. Not to mention that such has created Witchcraft to look as a way to get one’s selfish needs met and not a form of divination.

Since the birth of my wonderful son six months ago, I’ve been constantly thinking about how open to be with him about my religious beliefs, especially at a young age. There are many that still refuse to accept my lifestyle as something more than what they were taught – a fearful bastardization of Christianity that worships the Devil. Every now and then I shake with fear that my son, while meaning well, will say something about his mumma being a Witch and that will lead to DHHS at our doorstep. There have been nights I have awaken in a cold sweat because of such dreams. While many think think this can’t happen any more, it does, and it scared me to no end.

The only way that I can think to combat this is to become as well versed in my religion’s history and tale as possible. Now that my current semester of graduate school is done, I’ve been focusing on rereading what few resources I have about Paganism and  Witchcraft. The more I learn and relearn, the better off my family will be. I’ve spent many hours learning the history and story of Christianity to teach him later on, as my husband is Congregationalist. Now it is time to focus on my spirituality, faith, and most importantly, my own need to reconnect with the Ancestors.

2 responses to “Renewal

  1. Alex Jones May 10, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I am a Luciferian, but I share similar outlooks to paganism, specifically neo-druidism.

    I consider that the best way of showing the outside world your philosophy is through example, by the doing of it. Too many people come into Paganism via things like Harry Potter, and they have the wrong idea, unless it is practical then why bother?

  2. Pingback: Mixed Faith Families « A Mouse's Tale

Leave a Reply

