A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

Good News For Animal Lovers: Factory Farming’s Days May Be Numbered | Alternet

In one of history’s most stunning victories for humane farming, Australia’s largest supermarket chain, Coles, will as of January 1 stop selling company branded pork and eggs from animals kept in factory farms. As an immediate result, 34,000 mother pigs will no longer be kept in stalls for long periods of their lives, and 350,000 hens will be freed from cages.

Good News For Animal Lovers: Factory Farming's Days May Be Numbered | Alternet.

I am absolutely giddy over this sort of news! While I’m still really gunshy about us raising animals for slaughter, I’m glad we buy local, non-factory meat. I can only hope that someday stores in the U.S. will step up to the plate as well.

Meanwhile, in the United States, egg factory farms cram more than 90 percent of the country’s 280 million egg-laying hens into barren cages so small the birds can’t even spread their wings. Each bird spends her entire life given less space than a sheet of paper.

It’s ideas like that above that make me sick to my stomach, espeically when many people have never seen a chicken up close. Having our three layers has taught me a lot and has made me more mindful about what I eat and the reverence that should be put into the process. While I don’t think I could ever be a vegetarian, and I expect no one else to be, I think we need to realize that we need to raise our meat humanely in order for it to be a peaceful existance for the animal.

Leave a Reply

