A Mouse's Tale

Random scurryings of a writer.

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” ~Les Brown

Sometimes it takes the right opportunity at the wrong time to make us refocus on our goals.

I was offered an interview for what a few years ago I would have called a dream position. It was teaching 5/6 ELA and humanitas for a charter school focusing on agriculture.

I just called this morning and said, “Thanks, but no thanks for the interview.” Why? When hubster and I decided to start a family we talked about what we wanted. We want one of us to be able to be home with our children until they go into public school. OR for one of us to be able to find at home work so that they never have to go into public school.

Right now, where we’re at in life, we have a homestead that is building. I am doing thesis work. We still want to keep Little Mister home until he’s either in preschool or kindergarten. Hubster’s been offered a position that will allow us to still pay the bills, have better health care, and will be much closer to home. We have a secured income right now. I know that the only way that we could both work out of the home would be to put Little Mister in full-time (8 hours a day) daycare. He might get time with Dada in the evenings, but it would have to be shared with the homestead. His time with me would be non-existent. My life would be lesson planning, teaching, and then coming home to grade papers and locking myself away at night to work on my thesis.

That’s not what we want.

Having this opportunity waved at me has made me realized that I am marketable and career worthy. That’s hard to remember sometimes.

Here’s hoping that the stars are so kind later on.

Leave a Reply

